Requiem (1893 version)

for Soprano and Baritone soloists, SATB chorus and small orchestra

Gabriel Fauré
35 Mins
2 bn, 4 hn, 2 tpt, timp, hp, org, str (vln solo, vla 1& 2, vc 1 & 2, db)


This edition presents Fauré's masterpiece in a form which accords with his original intention that it should be a liturgical Requiem with accompaniment of organ and chamber ensemble. The 1893 version is an expansion of Fauré's original, prepared by the composer for a performance at the Church of the Madeleine in Paris and containing two additional movements, the Offertoire and the Libera me. In contrast to the fully orchestrated version that was published in 1900, this edition preserves the original chamber instrumentation, and it also contains a full English translation by John Rutter.

Complete orchestral and vocal material is available on hire/rental, and the vocal score, full score, and parts are also available on sale.

Fauré's original instrumentation is included in this set: 2 hn, hp, org, str (vln solo, vla 1 & 2, vc 1 & 2, db), but can be requested separately via rental. Click here to view/rent the original instrumentation on Zinfonia, or email us at to place an inquiry. Vocal scores for the movements, Sanctus, Libera Me, and In Paradisum are also available individually.

Title Part / Version Stock Price   
Requiem (1893 version) Set of non-string parts (1 of each incl. timp) In stock $67.00 32
Requiem (1893 version) Set of string parts (contains 1 vn solo, 1 db, 2 of all others) In stock $88.00 20
Requiem (1893 version) Harp part In stock $15.50 30
Requiem (1893 version) Full score In stock $145.00 28
Requiem (1893 version) Vocal score In stock $11.25 2514

Recently Viewed Items

Clear List

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020