The Lark Ascending

Romance for violin and orchestra

Ralph Vaughan Williams
Full score on sale
In stock


Vaughan Williams's hauntingly beautiful The Lark Ascending is one of his most enduringly popular works. A serene romance, the work takes its title from a poem by George Meredith. The violin's magical evocation of the lark's 'chirrup, whistle, slur and shake', as it soars above delicate orchestral textures, demonstates the composer's mastery of the pastoral idiom.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193692039
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 40
Duration: 15 Mins
Publication Date: 07/04/2005
ISBN: 9780193692039
Format: 297x210
Force: Violin & orchestra
Instrumentation: vln solo, 2 fl, ob, 2 cl, 2 bn, 2 hn, tri, str
Level of difficulty: C-D


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020