Oxford Bach Books for Organ: Manuals Only, Book 1

Grades 2-5

Johann Sebastian Bach / Anne Marsden Thomas
In stock


This five-volume graded series of organ music by J. S. Bach (2 volumes for manuals only; 3 volumes for manuals and pedals) provides a wonderful selection of pieces for all players. The whole is an authoritative and fully practical introduction to this cornerstone of the organ repertoire, with pieces presented in highly practical form for teachers and students.

  • Five-volume graded series for players of all levels
  • Includes the essential pieces in all genres - chorale preludes, preludes and fugues, toccatas, trio sonata movements - as well as a variety of lesser known works.
  • Contains a general introduction with advice on registration, fingering and footing, touch and articulartion, and ornamentation
  • Informative Notes on the Pieces by renowned Bach scholar Professor Russell Stinson
  • Practical and portable collection of this cornerstone of the organ repertoire


  • Liebster Immanuel, BWV 485
  • O Jesulein süss, o Jesulein mild, BWV 493
  • Jesu, meines Herzens Freud, BWV 473
  • Ich hab mein Sach Gott heimgestellt, BWV 708 and 708a
  • Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, BWV 711
  • Prelude inC minor, BWV 934
  • Ich halte treulich still, BWV 466
  • Prelude in D minor, BWV 935
  • Dir, dir, Jehovah, will ichsingen, BWV 452
  • Bourrée I, from Overture in the French Style, BWV 831
  • Herr Christ, der einig GottesSohn, BWV 698
  • Prelude in D major, BWV 936
  • Nun ruhen alle Wälder, BWV 756
  • Lob sei dem allmächtigenGott, BWV 704
  • Nun freut euch, lieben Christen gmein, BWV 755
  • Prelude in C major, BWV 943
  • Fughetta in G major,BWV 902
  • Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend, BWV 726
  • Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, BWV 677
  • Nun freuteuch, lieben Christen gmein, BWV 734
  • Adagio (2nd movement of Concerto in A minor), after Vivaldi, BWV 593
  • Vater unser imHimmelreich, BWV 683
  • Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 691
  • Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV691a
  • Erbarm dich mein, o Herre Gott, BWV 721
  • Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 690
  • Christum wirsollen loben schon, BWV 696
  • Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 699
  • Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 737
  • Jesus,meine Zuversicht, BWV 728
  • Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 722
  • Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 697
  • VomHimmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 701
  • Herzliebster Jesu, was hast du verbrochen, BWV 1093
  • Allegro (1st movement ofConcerto in F major), after Vivaldi, BWV 978
  • Fugue in C major, BWV 952
  • Fugue in G minor (arr. Johann Georg

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193386730
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 64
Publication Date: 01/05/2014
Barcode: 0
Format: 311x232
Force: Organ
Level of difficulty: B


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021