Oboe Quintet 'Into the ravine'

Michael Berkeley
Score and parts
In stock


While writing this quintet Berkeley had in mind the paintings of John Craxton and Mark Rothko, and the way in which paint can vibrate as colours collide. The piece opens with the oboe intoning three notes around which all the music oscillates. At pivotal moments in the music this lachrymose motif imposes itself though in varied permutations. In the final bars the oboe has a seagull-like cry until, as though a switch is pulled, its life force is suddenly cut off.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193390768
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 64
Duration: 18 Mins
Publication Date: 23/08/2012
Format: 297x210
Voices: 2-5
Force: Oboe, 2 violins, viola, cello


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021