Henselt: Piano Works (Daniel Grimwood, Piano)

Adolf von Henselt
Compact Disk - Piano Solo
In stock


Daniel Grimwood shines a light on the music of Adolph von Henselt, one of the most admired Romantic composers and piano virtuosi of the 19th century, whom Schumann called the ‘hero of the pianoforte’, whose works have nevertheless been largely forgotten in the last 100 years. The album presents a rare collection of pieces, recorded in Schwabach in Germany, Henselt’s town of birth.

Pianist Daniel Grimwood is a performer of international renown, combining an exceptional talent, rare versatility and refinement of technique, with an inquisitive and creative personality.

Producer / Recording Engineer: Andrew Mellor
Recording Editor: Daniel Grimwood
Cover image: "Three New Mexico Birds" by Janet Lynch
Edition Peters Sounds
Catalogue number: EPS005
UPC 700461442295
Released: December 1, 2016


  • Variations de concert sur le motif de l’opéra “L’elisire d’amore”, Op. 1 in E major
  • Deux petites Valses, Op. 28, No. 1 in F major
  • Deux petites Valses, Op. 28, No. 2 in C major
  • Mon chant du cygne (“Mein Schwanengesang”) WoO in A flat major
  • Tableau musical. Fantaisie sur un air bohémien-russe, WoO (Op. 16) in A flat major
  • Deux Nocturnes, Op. 6, No. 1 “Schmerz im Glück” in E flat minor
  • Deux Nocturnes, Op. 6, No. 2 “La Fontaine” in F major
  • Valse mélancolique, Op. 36 in D minor
  • Ballade, Op. 31 in B flat major
  • Impromptu No. 1, Op. 7 in C minor
  • Impromptu No. 2, Op. 17 in F minor
  • Impromptu No. 3, Op. 34 “Illusion perdue” in B flat minor
  • Impromptu No. 4, Op. 37 in B minor
  • Vöglein-Etüde (“Si oiseau j’etais”) Op. 2, No. 6 in F sharp major
  • Berceuse “Wiegenlied”, WoO (Op. 45) in G flat major
  • Grande Valse “L’aurore boréale” (“Das Nordlicht”), Op. 30 in C sharp minor

Additional Information

Item Number: EPS005
Format: CDs
Duration: 68 Mins
Barcode: 0700461442295


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021