Two Chorals from 'Hodie'

Ralph Vaughan Williams
Vocal score
In stock


for SATB unaccompanied
These two chorals are taken from Vaughan Williams's 1954 Christmas Cantata Hodie (This Day) - his last major composition for choir and orchestra. 'The blessed son of God' is the fifth movement of the original work, and is a hushed, tender setting of Miles Coverdale's translation of a hymn by Martin Luther. The second choral, 'No sad thought this soul affright', is the penultimate movement of the work, and introduces moments of mystical discordance to the gentle tone set in the first choral.


  • The blessed son of God
  • No sad though his soul affright

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193853850
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 8
Duration: 5 Mins
Publication Date: 22/02/2007
ISBN: 9780193853850
Voices: SATB
Force: SATB unaccompanied
Level of difficulty: B-C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020