Orchestral Works 2

William Walton Edition vol. 16

William Walton / Michael Durnin
Full score
In stock


This volume contains newly edited versions of four important later orchestral works by Walton: Capriccio Burlesco, Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, Prologo e Fantasia, and Varii Capricci. The first three works were written for American orchestras: Capriccio Burlesco was commissioned by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra for its 125th anniversary year in 1968; the Improvisations, based on a theme from Britten's Piano Concerto No. 1, was written in 1969 and dedicated to the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra; Prologo e Fantasia was written in 1981-2 for the National Symphony Orchestra of Washington DC. The last work, Varii Capricci, was a free transcription for orchestra by Walton of his Five Bagatelles for Guitar and written for the opening of the Royal Festival Hall in 1976.


  • Capriccio Burlesco
  • Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten
  • Varii Capricci
  • Prologo eFantasia

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193683167
Format: Hardback
Number of Pages: 256
Publication Date: 11/10/2012
Format: 324x247
Force: Full orchestra
Instrumentation: Cappricio Burlesco - picc, 2 fl, 2 ob, ca, Ebcl, 2 cl, bcl, 2 bn, cbn, 4 hn, 3 tpt, 2 tbn, btbn, tba, timp, 3 perc (SD, TD, BD, cast, w blk, cym, whip, xylo, tamb, bongo), hp, str
Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten - 3 fl (III+picc), 3 ob (III+ca), 3 cl (III+bcl), 3 bn (III+cbn), 4 hn, 3 tpt, 3 tbn, tba, timp, 3 perc (glock, xylo, clash cym, sus cym, BD, tamb, 3 bongos, SD, MD), hp, str
Prologo e Fantasia - 3 fl, 3 ob (III+ca), 3 cl, 3 bn (IIII+cbn), 4 hn, 3 tpt, 3tbn, tba, timp, 4 perc (SD, cym, BD, xylo, clash cym), hp, pn, str
Varii Capricci - 3 fl (III+picc), 2 ob, ca, 3 cl, 3 bn, 4 hn, 3 tpt, 3 tbn, tba, timp, 3 perc, cel, hp, str
Level of difficulty: D


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021