Piano Trio

William Mathias
Score and parts
Printed to order
  • Orders for this item cannot be canceled. This item is not returnable.


Mathias's only piano trio was composed in 1965 for the Tunnell Trio, which commissioned the work and gave its premiere on 9 July in the Town Hall at that year's Cheltenham Festival. The piece comes almost directly between the two major early orchestral works, the Concerto for Orchestra, Op. 27 (for the RLPO) and the Symphony No. 1, Op.31 (for the CBSO). Mathias's writing is exuberant but always tautly controlled. His control of structure - articulated in terms of a personal brand of sonata form - is already masterly. In the opening movement the material is tightly integrated but the rhetorical discourse unfolds naturally. The scherzo is a rhythmic tour-de-force while the slow movement blends lyricism and rhetoric in a manner which is characteristically Celtic. The finale is a bright, even occasionally folksy rondo with the odd American twinge from time to time.
Geraint Lewis


  • Allegro moderato
  • Presto vivace
  • Lento, sena rigore
  • Allegro con brio

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193577817
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 56
Duration: 15 Mins
Publication Date: 28/08/1986
ISBN: 9780193577817
Format: 297x210
Voices: 2-5
Force: Piano trio

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021