Sonatina for clarinet and piano Op.3

William Mathias
Printed to order
  • Orders for this item cannot be canceled. This item is not returnable.


The first public performance of William Mathias's Sonatina for clarinet and piano, Op.3 in a SPNM concert on 13 July at the Town Hall in the 1957 Festival, put the Welsh composer on the international map. This piece was written when the composer was a student, at the Royal Academy of Music in 1956. It was then performed by John Hempenstall with the composer at the piano; in Cheltenham the performers were John Davies and Else Cross. Alan Hacker also played it with the composer on a number of occasion.
It was not published, however, for about twenty years, and in 1976 Mathias made a few minor textural revisions to this end. Listening today, it is fascinating to observe how many of Mathias' inimitable fingerprints are already present at such an early stage: the syncopated self-propelling rhythms, eloquent lyricism and life-enhancing exuberance.

Geraint Lewis


  • Allegretto
  • Lento molto cantabile
  • Allegro

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193577770
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 20
Duration: 8 Mins
Publication Date: 15/06/1978
ISBN: 9780193577770
Format: 297x210
Voices: 2-5
Force: Clarinet & piano

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021