String Quartet No. 3

William Mathias
Score and parts
Printed to order
  • Orders for this item cannot be canceled. This item is not returnable.


Mathias' third and final quartet was commissioned by the 1986 Harrogate International Festival and premiered there in August that year by the Medici Quartet. It has three movements: the first takes the form of a sonata, the second starts off as mysterious and lyrical and moves into a fiery climax, and the third uses exciting fugal passages and 'scherzando' sections, which make for a thrilling conclusion.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193577671
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 108
Duration: 29 Mins
Publication Date: 17/01/1991
Format: 297x210
Voices: 2-5
Force: String quartet

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021