Music from Chaucer

Michael Berkeley
Score and parts
Printed to order
  • Orders ship in approximately 5 business days.
  • This item is not returnable.


for brass quintet (2 trumpets, horn, trombone, tuba)
A work in five movements, each characterizing a poem by Chaucer. 'Triton's Trumpets', acts as an overture to the suite of pieces, is mainly rather rustic and, as its title implies, much of its music is in the nature of fanfares. Next is a haunting slow waltz, then a very short and very vigorous fanfare. In the fourth movement, 'The Sorrowful Knight', each instrument expresses its individual sorrow. Finally Chaucer himself chatters in a jaunty, innocent style.


  • Triton's Trumpets
  • The Grieving Queen
  • A Fanfare for the Huntsmen
  • The Sorrowful Knight
  • TheWakeful Poet

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193555020
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 76
Duration: 12 Mins
Publication Date: 03/09/1992
Barcode: 0
ISBN: 9780193555020
Format: 297x210
Voices: 2-5
Force: Brass quintet


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020