Piano Concerto

Chamber version

Howard Skempton
Full score
Printed to order
  • Orders for this item cannot be canceled. This item is not returnable.


for piano and string quartet
Originally scored for solo piano and full orchestra, Skempton's Piano Concerto has been arranged by the composer for quintet, broadening its reach to smaller ensembles. The work consists of five short movements, each exploring dissonance in a different way. The first features an ethereal and expansive soundscape that drifts through ever-changing harmonies. Bitonality is suggested in the second movement, while in the third, imitative entries and a repeating sixteen-bar progression culminate in an affirmative E major chord. The fourth movement builds a thick dissonant texture as the strings echo the piano's semitone and tritone intervals. Defying listeners' expectations, the last movement is characterized by its lack of dissonance, and develops a recurring lilting theme as the concerto comes to a close.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193530102
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 24
Duration: 14 Mins
Publication Date: 06/06/2019
Format: 297x210
Force: Piano & string quartet
Instrumentation: pno, 2 vln, vla, vc
Level of difficulty: C-D
Related Items

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021