A Stanford Organ Album

Charles Villiers Stanford / John Scott Whiteley
In stock


This superb volume comprises a selection of 20 pieces by Charles Villiers Stanford, the hugely influential composer, conductor, and teacher from the late-Victorian and Edwardian age. It provides the repertoire-hungry organist with preludes, postludes, and shorter descriptive works, suitable for either liturgical or recital use. Alongside new editions of original organ repertoire, there are newly commissioned arrangements of selected choral and piano works, exploring a wide variety of textures and atmospheres. The music reflects Stanford's lyricism and dramatic flair, as well as his considerable compositional range.

  • A selection of 20 pieces providing organ voluntaries, postludes and preludes, and shorter descriptive works
  • New editions of original organ repertoire plus newly commissioned arrangements of selected choral and piano works
  • Music that reflects Stanford's lyricism, influences, and compositional and technical range
  • Features pieces from the canonical Six Short Preludes and Postludes and Six Preludes, plus notable new discoveries


  • Andante con moto: founded on an Irish Church Melody (St Columba)
  • Prelude on Tallis's Canon
  • Allegro: on a Themeof Orlando Gibbons (Song 22)
  • At Eventide
  • Andante tranquillo: on a Theme of Orlando Gibbons (Song 34)
  • Te Deumlaudamus: Fantasia
  • A Concert Suite (Prelude in D minor; Andante in E flat; Study in E flat minor; Basso Ostinato in Fsharp minor; Moderato maestoso e con moto in C)
  • Three Sketches (Lullaby; Scherzo; Gavotte)
  • TheBlue Bird: from Eight Part-Songs
  • A Soliloquy: from Night Thoughts for Piano
  • Saraband: fromAct 1 of the opera Much Ado about Nothing
  • Allegro con fuoco (A Song of Battle)

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193529939
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 72
Publication Date: 25/02/2021
Format: 311x232
Force: Organ
Level of difficulty: B-C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021