Four Coronation Anthems

George Frideric Handel / Clifford Bartlett
Continuo part
Printed to order
  • Orders for this item cannot be canceled. This item is not returnable.


These four splendid anthems were composed for the coronation of George II in October 1727 and have since retained a position at the heart of the English choral tradition. The popular anthem Zadok the priest has been performed at all subsequent coronations, and Handel's other contributions to the royal occasion - Let thy hand be strengthened, The King shall rejoice, and My heart is inditing - have the same majestic grandeur, with affecting contrasts between different sections of the sacred texts. The editor, Clifford Bartlett, has corrected various inconsistencies in Handel's score, and complete details of sources and editorial method, additional performance notes, and a critical commentary can be viewed in the companion full score available on hire.
This continuo part is also available as part of the wind set.


  • Zadok the priest
  • Let thy hand be strengthened
  • The King shall rejoice
  • My heart is inditing

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193522206
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 32
Duration: 36 Mins
Publication Date: 24/08/2017
Format: 297x210
Voices: SATB
Force: SATB & orchestra
Instrumentation: 2 ob, 2 fag, 3 tpt, timp, strings, cont.

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021