Collected Songs Volume 1

Ralph Vaughan Williams
In stock


This publication is part of a three-volume collection that comprises the bulk of the solo songs that Vaughan Williams published with Oxford University Press. They span the whole of his long life, ranging from the early 'How can the Tree but Wither?' (composed around 1896) to the Four Last Songs (from 1954-8, his final years). Many of the composer's most popular songs are included, notably 'Greensleeves', 'The Woodcutter's Song' (Seven Songs from 'The Pilgrim's Progress', no. 6), 'The New Ghost', and 'The Water Mill' (Four Poems by Fredegond Shove, nos. 3 and 4).


  • Greensleeves
  • Take, O Take
  • When Icicles Hang by the Wall
  • Orpheus with his Lute
  • Nocturne
  • A Clear Midnight
  • Joy, Shipmate, Joy!
  • Procris
  • Tired
  • Hands,Eyes, and Heart
  • Menelaus

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193459274
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 36
Publication Date: 01/07/1993
ISBN: 9780193459274
Format: 311x232
Voices: Solo
Force: Medium voice & piano
Level of difficulty: B-C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020