Symphony No. 8

Ralph Vaughan Williams / David Lloyd-Jones
Full score
In stock


Vaughan Williams wrote Symphony No. 8 between 1953 and 1955 while in his eighties. It is his shortest symphony and considered by many to be his least serious. Aside from a few sombre moments, the symphony is optimistic in mood and displays Vaughan Williams's love for exotic and colourful combinations of instruments with a percussion sections that, he said, employs "all the 'phones and 'spiels known to the composer". For this newly engraved edition, editor David Lloyd-Jones has consulted all extant sources and materials to create a score matching the composer's intentions. The full score is completed with Textual Notes and Preface, and accompanying orchestral parts are available on hire.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193413290
Format: Hardback
Number of Pages: 120
Duration: 28 Mins
Publication Date: 29/09/2016
Format: 311x232
Force: Full orchestra
Instrumentation: 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn(opt 3rd), 2 hn, 2 tpt, 3 tbn, timp, 4 perc [opt 5th], 2 hp, cel, str
Level of difficulty: D


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2022