Bach Transcriptions for Organ

Johann Sebastian Bach / Martin Setchell
  • In stock


This collection presents a selection of varied repertoire by J. S. Bach in new arrangements for the organ. Bringing a wealth of popular pieces under the fingers and feet of intermediate players, the volume caters for all parts of a church service, as well as providing recital repertoire and popular encores. Taking its cue from the Baroque practice of transcription, and with the needs of modern players in mind, this volume presents a set of pieces with wide and varied use and makes a valuable addition to any organist's repertoire.

  • A selection of varied repertoire by J. S. Bach in new arrangements for the organ
  • 16 pieces from a cross-section of the master's instrumental and choral works
  • Practical new transcriptions by a leading concert organist, suited to most organs
  • Music suitable for all parts of a church service - preludes, postludes, and communion pieces - as well as recital repertoire and popular encores
  • A host of well-known favourites, including the Badinerie from Orchestral Suite No. 2, the slow movement of the Double Violin Concerto, and the Pastoral Symphony from the Christmas Oratorio, as well as less familiar works


  • Badinerie, from Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067
  • Bourrée II, from English Suite No. 2 in A minor, BWV807
  • Gavotte (Musette), from English Suite No. 3 in G minor, BWV 808
  • Largo, from Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV1043
  • March, from Cantata 207a, 'Auf, schmetternde Töne der muntern Trompeten' (Blare forth, ye merry trumpets), BWV 207a
  • Menuetto I and II, from Flute Sonata in C major, BWV 1033
  • Now thank we all our God, from Cantata 79, 'Gott, der Herr,ist Sonn' und Schild' (God the Lord is sun and shield), BWV 79
  • Pastoral Symphony, from Christmas Oratorio, Part II, BWV 248
  • Sarabande, from English Suite No. 2 in A minor, BWV 807
  • Sarabande, from French Suite No. 1 in D minor, BWV 812
  • Siciliano, from Flute Sonata in Eb major, BWV 1031
  • Sinfonia, from Cantata 156 'Ich steh' mit einem Fuss im Grabe' (I stand withone foot in the grave), BWV 156
  • Sonatina, from Funeral Cantata, 'Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit' (God's time is best), BWV 106
  • Wir setzen uns mit Tränen nieder (In tears of grief, dear Lord, we leave Thee), from St Matthew Passion, BWV 244
  • Sinfonia, from Cantata 29, 'Wir danken dir, Gott, wir danken dir' (We thank you, God, we thank you), BWV 29

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193399020
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 64
Publication Date: 17/04/2014
Barcode: 0
Format: 311x232
Voices: Solo
Force: Organ
Level of difficulty: B-C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2019