A Bach Book for Harriet Cohen

Transcriptions for pianoforte from the works of J. S. Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach / David Owen Norris
In stock


This celebrated collection contains arrangements prepared for Harriet Cohen by some of Britain's finest composers, such as Frank Bridge, William Walton, and Ralph Vaughan Williams, and includes favourites such as 'Sleepers, Wake', 'In dulci jubilo', and the Andante from Brandenburg Concerto No. 2. With a new introduction by David Owen Norris, A Bach Book for Harriet Cohen is ideal for all pianists of intermediate standard or above wishing to further explore Bach's music.

  • Reissue of an iconic OUP publication from 1932
  • Twelve Bach transcriptions prepared for the acclaimed English pianist Harriet Cohen
  • Contributions by some of Britain's leading composers of the period
  • Arrangements of choral and instrumental works
  • Introductory notes by the celebrated pianist and broadcaster David Owen Norris
  • Ideal companion volume to Bach Transcriptions for Piano (978-0-19-339261-8)


  • arr. Granville Bantock: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (Sleepers, Wake)
  • arr. Arnold Bax: Fantasia
  • arr. ArthurBliss: Das alte Jahr vergangen ist (The old year is ended)
  • arr. Lord Berners: In dulci jubilo (In sweet rejoicing)
  • arr.Frank Bridge: Komm, süsser Tod (Come, sweet death)
  • arr. John Ireland: Meine Seele erhebt den Herren (My soul doth magnify theLord)
  • arr. Eugene Goossens: Andante, from Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major
  • arr. Hebert Howells: O Mensch, bewein'dein' Sünde gross (O man, bewail thy grievous fall)
  • arr. Constant Lambert: Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich (O hail thisbright day of days)
  • arr. William Walton: Herzlich tut mich verlangen (Lord, hear my deepest longing)
  • arr. Ralph VaughanWilliams: Ach, bleib' bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ (Now cheer our hearts this eventide)
  • arr. William G. Whittaker: Wir glauben all'an einen Gott, Vater (We all believe in one God, the Father)

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193392229
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 40
Publication Date: 11/04/2013
Barcode: 0
ISMN: 978-0-19-339222-9
Format: 311x232
Voices: Solo
Force: Solo piano
Instrumentation: Keyboard
Level of difficulty: C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021