Oxford Bach Books for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1

Grades 4-5

Johann Sebastian Bach / Anne Marsden Thomas
In stock


This five-volume graded series of organ music by J. S. Bach (2 volumes for manuals only; 3 volumes for manuals and pedals) provides a wonderful selection of pieces for all players. The whole is an authoritative and fully practical introduction to this cornerstone of the organ repertoire, with pieces presented in highly practical form for teachers and students.

  • Five-volume graded series for players of all levels
  • Includes the essential pieces in all genres - chorale preludes, preludes and fugues, toccatas, trio sonata movements - as well as a variety of lesser known works.
  • Contains a general introduction with advice on registration, fingering and footing, touch and articulartion, and ornamentation
  • Informative Notes on the Pieces by renowned Bach scholar Professor Russell Stinson
  • Practical and portable collection of this cornerstone of the organ repertoire


  • Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, from Cantata 166
  • Jesu, meine Freude, from Cantata 64
  • Wach auf, meinHerze, und singe, from Cantata 194
  • O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden, from St Matthew Passion
  • Erhault uns, Herr, beideinem Wort, from Cantata 6
  • Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern, from Cantata 36
  • Prelude in F major, BWV 556
  • Prelude in C major, BWV 567
  • Fantasia in G minor, BWV 917
  • Prelude and Fugue in C major, BWV 553
  • Christe, du Lamm Gottes, BWV 619
  • Lobt Gott, ihr Christen, allzugleich, BWV 732
  • Prelude and Fugue in G minor, BWV 558
  • Wo soll ich fliehen hin, BWV 694
  • Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag, BWV 629
  • Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV626
  • Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639
  • Komm, Gott Schöpfer, Heiliger Geist, BWV 631
  • Alle Menschenmüssen sterben, BWV 643
  • Es ist das Heil uns kommen her, BWV 638
  • Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 555
  • WirChristenleut habn jetzund Freud, BWV 710
  • Fugue in C minor, BWV 575
  • Wo soll ich fliehen hin, BWV 646
  • PedalExercise, BWV 598
  • Canzona in D minor, BWV 588

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193386709
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 64
Publication Date: 01/05/2014
Barcode: 0
Format: 311x232
Voices: Solo
Force: Organ
Level of difficulty: C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021