The Bear

An Extravaganza in One Act, William Walton Edition vol. 2

William Walton / Michael Burden
Full Score
In stock


The Bear is an extravaganza in one act for three soloists and orchestra, commissioned by the Koussevitsky Foundation in 1965 and first performed at the Aldeburgh Festival in 1967. It is based on a short story of Chekhov, with a libretto by Paul Dehn.
The action takes place in the drawing room of Madam Popova's house in the country in 1888. Popova, a pretty widow affectedly faithful to the memory of her late and, alas, promiscuous, husband is confronted by Smirnov, one of her husband's more boorish creditors. They quarrel to a point at which each aims a loaded pistol at the other, but neither can fire. They have both fallen helplessly in love.
This new edition is based on a full assessment of all extant sources and takes account of Walton's various revisions. A new vocal score is also published on sale, and new orchestral material fully compatible with this score is available for hire.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193384439
Format: Hardback
Number of Pages: 280
Duration: 50 Mins
Publication Date: 25/11/2010
Barcode: 0
ISBN: 9780193384439
Format: 324x247
Force: Mezzo-soprano, baritone, bass, chamber orchestra
Instrumentation: fl (+picc), ob (+ca), cl, bn, hn, tpt, tbn, 2 perc (tbells, timp, sus cym, TD, SD, crotales, 3 w blks, tamb, vib, glock, whip, jingles, xylo, rattle, BD, Chinese w blks), hp, pn, str quintet or full str
Level of difficulty: D


Related Items

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2022