Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 3

Anne Marsden Thomas
In stock


This is a major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities. Compiler and editor Anne Marsden Thomas has drawn on her long experience of teaching and playing to select the most attractive, tuneful repertoire in two sets of graded anthologies, one set (3 volumes) for manuals only, the second set (3 volumes) for manuals and pedals.
Within each book the pieces are grouped according to service needs into Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, and Postludes. The repertoire spans the 16th to the 21st century, with some new pieces written especially for the collection. A number of pieces throughout the collection have been selected for the ABRSM organ syllabus.
The result is a wonderful collection of repertoire for all players, containing a wealth of attractive and varied pieces that will offer much practical support for church musicians and enrich and develop their playing.

  • Major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities
  • Each book groups pieces according to service needs: Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, Postludes
  • Tuneful, attractive repertoire, spanning 16th-21st cents. with some new pieces written especially for the collection
  • Major composers for the instrument well represented
  • Pieces edited afresh to present music clearly and practically for players, with registration and tempo suggestions for each piece
  • Strong representation in ABRSM syllabus (from 2011)
  • Graded collection: approx. book 1 Grades 1-4
  • book 2 Gr. 4-6, book 3 Gr. 6-8
  • High-profile editor, leading teacher and concert organist


  • C. Hubert H. Parry: Eventide
  • Georg Boehm: Vater unser in Himmelreich
  • Percy W. Whitlock: Allegretto
  • Nicolas de Grigny: R'ecit de Tierce en Taille
  • Felix Mendelssohn: Allegretto
  • Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Werde munter, meinGemüte
  • Johann Eberlin: Prelude
  • Willibald Richter: Intermezzo
  • Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Interlude
  • Alexandre Bo"ely: Cantique
  • J. H. Knecht: Interlude
  • Brian Solomons: October
  • M. G. Fischer: Prelude
  • Charles Hutchings: Processional
  • W. T. Best: O praise the Lord with one consent
  • Nicolas de Grigny: Dialogue sur lesGrands Jeux
  • Carl Piutti: Es ist das Heil uns kommen her
  • Th'eodore Salom'e: Grand Choeur
  • Francis Jackson:Fanfare
  • Max Reger: Lobe den Herren, den m"achtigen K"onig der Ehren
  • Dietrich Buxtehude: Toccata in F
  • M. G.Fischer: Prelude
  • Richard Proulx: Fanfare
  • Felix Mendelssohn: Allegro
  • Carl Piutti: Nun danket alle Gott
  • J. S. Bach: Valet will ich dir geben

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193372689
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 64
Publication Date: 10/02/2011
Barcode: 0
ISBN: 9780193372689
Format: 311x232
Voices: Solo
Force: Organ
Level of difficulty: D


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2022