Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 2

Anne Marsden Thomas
In stock


This is a major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities. Compiler and editor Anne Marsden Thomas has drawn on her long experience of teaching and playing to select the most attractive, tuneful repertoire in two sets of graded anthologies, one set (3 volumes) for manuals only, the second set (3 volumes) for manuals and pedals.
Within each book the pieces are grouped according to service needs into Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, and Postludes. The repertoire spans the 16th to the 21st century, with some new pieces written especially for the collection. A number of pieces throughout the collection have been selected for the ABRSM organ syllabus.
The result is a wonderful collection of repertoire for all players, containing a wealth of attractive and varied pieces that will offer much practical support for church musicians and enrich and develop their playing.

  • Major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities
  • Each book groups pieces according to service needs: Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, Postludes
  • Tuneful, attractive repertoire, spanning 16th-21st cents. with some new pieces written especially for the collection
  • Major composers for the instrument well represented
  • Pieces edited afresh to present music clearly and practically for players, with registration and tempo suggestions for each piece
  • Strong representation in ABRSM syllabus (from 2011)
  • Graded collection: approx. book 1 Grades 1-4
  • book 2 Gr. 4-6, book 3 Gr. 6-8
  • High-profile editor, leading teacher and concert organist


  • J. S. Bach: Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier
  • C. Armstrong Gibbs: Folk-song
  • Julius Reubke: Trio
  • J. C. Oley:Ich hab in Gottes Herz und Sinn
  • C. Hubert H. Parry: Rockingham
  • Felix Mendelssohn: Adagio
  • Louis Marchand:Tierce en Taille
  • Georg Boehm: Nun bitten wir den Heiligen Geist
  • Percy W. Whitlock: Andante Tranquillo
  • C'esarFranck: Andantino poco allegretto
  • Gordon Phillips: A Miniature
  • J. H. Knecht: Interlude
  • Sigfrid Karg-Elert:Alla Musette
  • Percy W. Whitlock: Dolcezza
  • Vincenzo Petrali: Verse
  • Carl Piutti: Meine Hoffnung steht auf Gott
  • Henry Smart: Interlude
  • Vincenzo Petrali: Processional
  • J. H. Scheidemann: Praeambulum
  • Anon. Spanish:Verse
  • W. T. Best: Processional
  • François Couperin: Plein chant du premier Kyrie, en Taille
  • Edwin H.Lemare: Processional
  • C'esar Franck: Grand Choeur
  • Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Erschienen ist der herrlich Tag
  • J. C.Kittel: Mache dich, mein Geist, bereit
  • Jules Massenet: Prelude in C
  • Johann Krebs: Fantasia
  • Ian Hunt : ToccataGiocosa
  • Alexandre Guilmant: Marche de Procession
  • C. V. Stanford: Postlude on an old Irish church melody
  • J. G.Walther: Allegro
  • Max Reger: Lobe den Herren, den m"achtigen K"onig der Ehren

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193372672
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 64
Publication Date: 10/02/2011
Barcode: 0
ISBN: 9780193372672
Format: 311x232
Voices: Solo
Force: Organ
Level of difficulty: C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020