Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1

Anne Marsden Thomas
In stock


This is a major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities. Compiler and editor Anne Marsden Thomas has drawn on her long experience of teaching and playing to select the most attractive, tuneful repertoire in two sets of graded anthologies, one set (3 volumes) for manuals only, the second set (3 volumes) for manuals and pedals.
Within each book the pieces are grouped according to service needs into Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, and Postludes. The repertoire spans the 16th to the 21st century, with some new pieces written especially for the collection. A number of pieces throughout the collection have been selected for the ABRSM organ syllabus.
The result is a wonderful collection of repertoire for all players, containing a wealth of attractive and varied pieces that will offer much practical support for church musicians and enrich and develop their playing. Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1 was winner of the Music Industries Association's Best Classical Publication 2011.

  • Major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities
  • Each book groups pieces according to service needs: Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, Postludes
  • Tuneful, attractive repertoire, spanning 16th-21st cents. with some new pieces written especially for the collection
  • Major composers for the instrument well represented
  • Pieces edited afresh to present music clearly and practically for players, with registration and tempo suggestions for each piece
  • Strong representation in ABRSM syllabus (from 2011)
  • Graded collection: approx. book 1 Grades 1-4
  • book 2 Gr. 4-6, book 3 Gr. 6-8
  • High-profile editor, leading teacher and concert organist


  • J. C. Bach: Wie sch"on leuchtet der Morgenstern
  • Samuel Wesley: Diapason Piece
  • Johann Pachelbel: Chaconne
  • C'esar Franck: Prelude
  • J. H. Knecht: Cantabile in C
  • Henry Coleman: Let all mortal flesh keep silence
  • C. Hubert H. Parry: Tranquilly
  • A. Vivaldi/J. S. Bach: Siciliano
  • Brian Solomons: Aria
  • J. S. Bach: Pastorella
  • Th'eodore Salom'e: En forme de canon
  • Michel Corrette: Musette
  • J. H. Knecht: Cantabile in F minor
  • Edward Elgar: Vesper Voluntary No. 3
  • C. S. Lang: St Peter
  • C'esar Franck: Prelude
  • Johann Eberlin: Finale
  • L'eon Bo"ellmann: 'El'egie
  • G. M. Trabaci: Verse
  • Peter Hurford: Verse
  • Brian Solomons: The Palace ofthe Forest of Lebanon
  • Henry Smart: Interlude
  • Domenico Zipoli: Verse
  • J. C. Rinck: Andante
  • J. M.Henkel: Interlude
  • J. C. Simon: Prelude
  • J. K. F. Fischer: Prelude
  • Anon. Italian: Verse
  • J.-F.Dandrieu: En Grand Jeu
  • Gottlieb Muffat: Toccata
  • Johann Krebs: Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir
  • Louis Marchand:Dialogue
  • Alexandre Bo"ely: No"el
  • Anon. Italian: Toccata
  • A. G. Ritter: Processional
  • Johann Krebs:Prelude in F
  • J. G. Walther: Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan
  • G. B. Martini: Toccata
  • J. H. Knecht: Postlude
  • Pedro de Ara'ujo: Batalha do sexto tom
  • Anon. Italian: Toccata and Fugue
  • Alan Bullard: Flourish
  • Johann Krebs: Prelude in C
  • C'esar Franck: Sortie
  • Samuel Wesley: Voluntary

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193372665
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 64
Publication Date: 10/02/2011
Barcode: 0
ISBN: 9780193372665
Format: 311x232
Voices: Solo
Force: Organ
Level of difficulty: B


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2022