Popular Voiceworks 2

28 Songs in Jazz, Gospel, R&B, Soul, and Show Styles

/ Charlie Beale / Steve Milloy
In stock


Following the outstanding success of book 1, Popular Voiceworks 2 is a second collection of jazzy and popular songs in the highly practical Voiceworks format. Packed with songs in a huge range of styles, the collection provides exciting new material written by the authors as well as choral arrangements of favourites such as 'Ain't no stoppin' us now', 'Feelin' good', and 'Bang the drum all day'. The accompanying CDs include stylish performances of all the songs, together with backings for most. This all adds up to a fabulous resource for all young and young-at-heart singing groups!

  • 28 fabulous songs from unison to four-part harmony
  • Ideal for youth choirs, school groups (11 yrs +), community choirs, and choral groups of all ages and experience
  • Opportunities for improvisation throughout
  • Vast range of repertoire including jazz, R&B, country, funk, spiritual, gospel, disco, rock, show, folk, motown, doo-wop, and more
  • Brand-new songs and new arrangements of popular favourites
  • A complete rehearsal plan for each song, including warm-ups and guidance on vocal techniques for singing popular styles and beatboxing
  • Stylistic but accessible piano accompaniments
  • Photocopiable pages for most pieces
  • Two CDs with performances and stylish backings
  • Extra resources available to download


  • Milloy: Goin' up the ladder
  • Anon., arr. Beale: Shallow Brown
  • Trad. African American, arr. Milloy: We shall notbe moved
  • Beale: Sing Love
  • Beale: Not when lights are low
  • Milloy: City Lights
  • Milloy: What they say
  • Spiritual, arr. Beale and Milloy: Good news, the chariot's comin'
  • Domino and Bartholomew, arr. Beale: I'm Walkin'
  • Milloy: Harvest Rain
  • Rundgren, arr. Milloy: Bang the Drum All Day
  • Samburski, arr. Beale: Ner Li
  • Milloy: Contagious
  • Trad., arr. Beale: Scarborough Fair
  • Collins Foster, arr. Milloy: Hard times come again no more
  • Isley Bros, arr. Milloy: Fight the Power
  • Milloy: You Got It!
  • Beale: Guiding Light
  • Beale: Gonna makea wish
  • Mulligan, arr. Beale: Blues in B flat
  • Bricusse and Newley, Simone, arr. Beale: Feelin' Good
  • Beethoven,arr. Milloy: Joyful, joyful
  • Beale: Retweet
  • Cohen, McFadden, and Whitehead, arr. Milloy: Ain't no stoppin' us now
  • Hansard and Irglova, arr. Beale: Falling Slowly
  • Beale: Fly
  • Luther Vandross, arr. Milloy: Ev erybody Rejoice
  • Gore, arr. Beale and Milloy: Here's where I stand
  • Amazing Grace (web download)

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193368941
Format: Pack
Number of Pages: 240
Publication Date: 09/08/2012
Barcode: 0
Format: 297x210
Voices: SATB
Force: Unison to 4-part
Level of difficulty: A-C


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021