William Walton Edition vol. 3

William Walton / David Lloyd-Jones
Full score
In stock


This volume presents new editions of the ballets The Wise Virgins (based on the music of J. S. Bach) and The Quest, works Walton completed in the 1940s. The full score of The Quest reveals Walton's original orchestration for the first time. Also published for the first time are the recently discovered three numbers from The Wise Virgins which, together with those of the Suite, comprised the complete ballet. The volume has an extended Preface explaining the fascinating history behind the works and a full textual commentary. The scores have been entirely re-set, and new orchestral parts on hire/rental produced to match the new editions.
Orchestral material is available on hire/rental.


  • The Quest
  • The Wise Virgins

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193365087
Format: Hardback
Number of Pages: 384
Duration: 45 Mins
Publication Date: 20/03/2014
Barcode: 0
Format: 324x247
Force: Orchestra
Instrumentation: The Wise Virgins: 2fl (both dbl. picc), 2ob (2 dbl. c.a.), 2cl, 2bsn, 4hrn, 2trp, 3trb, timp, hp, strings
The Quest: 2fl (2 dbl. picc), 2ob (2 dbl. cor), 2cl, 2bsn, 4hrn, 2trp, 3trb, perc (1 player: timp, tri, tamb, castanets, large temple block, whip, susp cym, cym, SD, BD, bells), hp, strings
Level of difficulty: C-D


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2019