Michael Berkeley
Printed to order
  • Orders for this item cannot be canceled. This item is not returnable.


Seven is based on Second Still Life for oboe and harp, which Berkeley wrote for the 2007 Presteigne Festival. That work is founded in turn on a 'short and very spare' phrase which the composer remembered from his score for the 1986 feature film Captive . In the film it marked what the composer calls 'a moment of absolute but menacing tranquility'; but in its new context, stripped of narrative, the music loses any sense of menace and rejoices in a meditative purity. Seven is the result of Berkeley's feeling that he could elaborate the material further and use contrasting voices, while still retaining an utter simplicity. As for the title, the work is for seven players - well, six and a mystery seventh; it lasts seven minutes; and it plays with the juxtaposition of seven characters and the way they can inflect lines with their own colour and individuality. (© Anthony Burton 2007)

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193359963
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 21
Duration: 7 Mins
Publication Date: 16/10/2008
ISBN: 9780193359963
Format: 297x210
Voices: 6-13
Force: Chamber ensemble
Instrumentation: flute (+alto flute), oboe, clarinet, tam-tam, harp, violin, cello


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021