Symphony No. 5

Ralph Vaughan Williams / Peter Horton
Full score
  • Out of stock
  • Please contact us for anticipated delivery date


Despite having been composed in the years 1938-43 when Europe was ravaged by war, this work radiates peace and serenity. It marks the peak of the lyrical modalism of works such as the Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis (1910), Flos Campi (1925), and Job (1931). Although it is not a programme symphony, it draws heavily on John Bunyan's The Pilgrim's Progress for inspiration, featuring several themes that were sketched for (and eventually used in) Vaughan Williams's 1951 opera. In addition, Bunyan's words 'He hath given me rest by his sorrow and life by his death' were originally inscribed over the third movement. This idea of strength drawn from religion must have been especially potent when Vaughan Williams conducted the premiere of the work at the Proms in 1943, during the dark days of the Second World War. The ending in particular has a sense of rising above all worldly concerns into a higher spiritual plane.
This edition contains an introduction by Michael Kennedy and textual notes. Orchestral parts are available on hire.

  • New edition, newly engraved, of a major OUP work and standard repertoire piece.
  • Corrects errors and misprints and is based on the research of extant autograph and early copies.
  • Includes an Introduction by Vaughan Williams scholar Michael Kennedy, and Textual Notes by the editor.
  • Fully compatible with new hire parts.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193359420
Format: Hardback
Number of Pages: 128
Duration: 38 Mins
Publication Date: 03/07/2008
ISBN: 9780193359420
Format: 311x232
Force: Orchestra
Instrumentation: 2(II+picc)
Level of difficulty: D


© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2021