Four Coronation Anthems

George Frideric Handel / Clifford Bartlett
Full score
In stock


These four splendid anthems were composed for the coronation of George II in October 1727 and have since retained a position at the heart of the English choral tradition. The popular anthem Zadok the Priest has been performed at all subsequent coronations, and Handel's other contributions to the royal occasion - Let thy hand be strengthened, The King shall rejoice, and My heart is inditing - have the same majestic grandeur, with affecting contrasts between different sections of the sacred texts. The editor, Clifford Bartlett, has corrected various inconsistencies in Handel's score, and complete details of sources and editorial method, additional performance notes, and a critical commentary are included.

Additional Information

Item Number: 9780193352599
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 160
Duration: 5 Mins
Publication Date: 08/03/1990
Format: 311x232
Voices: SATB
Force: SATB & orchestra
Instrumentation: 2 ob, 2 bn, 3 tpt, timp, strings, cont.
Level of difficulty: C

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020