Orlando Jacinto García to receive Walter Hinrichsen Award

(Photo: Jacek Kolasinski)
Edition Peters is excited and honored by the opportunity to congratulate Orlando Jacinto García, the 2022 recipient of the Walter Hinrichsen Award for music from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

The Havana-born, Miami-based composer has composed music for an extraordinary variety of media, genres and instrumentations, including site-specific works, electroacoustic works, and music for symphony orchestra, for chorus, for chamber ensemble, and more. He has received performances from the Simón Bolívar Symphony, the Brooklyn Philharmonic, the Continuum Ensemble, the Málaga Philharmonic, the New World Symphony, Maya Beiser, Jennifer Choi, Miranda Cuckson, Rebekah Heller, and Kathleen Supové, to list just a few ensembles and performers who have championed his work.

A resident composer for the Miami Symphony Orchestra, García also serves as the Distinguished University Professor and Composer in Residence for the School of Music at Florida International University, where he founded and directs the Miami Section of the International Society for Contemporary Music, the New Music Miami ISCM Festival, and the NODUS Ensemble. Among many other honors and fellowships, he has received generous support from the Rockefeller Foundation been nominated for five Latin GRAMMY Awards.

The winners of this year’s musical awards from the Academy of Arts and Letters were nominated by the membership of the Academy and selected by a committee that included Edition Peters composers George Lewis and Chinary Ung, along with John Corigliano, Stephen Hartke, Augusta Read Thomas, Julia Wolfe, and this year's committee chair, Chen Yi. García and the other honorees will formally receive their awards at the annual ceremonial, to be held at the Academy's campus in New York on May 18, 2022.

Orlando Jacinto García comments: It is an incredible honor and privilege to receive the Walter Hinrichsen Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, especially given that the publication of my work by one of the most respected publishers in the world, Edition Peters, is the basis for the award. It is very humbling to be in the company of such amazing composers that make up their impressive catalog.

Kathryn Knight, President of Edition Peters USA, says: Congratulations to Orlando Jacinto García on his much-deserved Walter Hinrichsen Award. I and everyone at Edition Peters look forward to the opportunity to add one of his richly moving and immersive scores to our publishing catalog.

Christian Hinrichsen, grandson of Evelyn and Walter Hinrichsen and shareholder in the Edition Peters Group, adds: The close relationship that Edition Peters has enjoyed with the composers of what has been dubbed the 'New York School'--Earle Brown, John Cage, Morton Feldman, and Christian Wolff--is an integral part of the Edition Peters story and of my family's publishing legacy. It is fitting, then, that as we draw closer to the 75th anniversary of Edition Peters USA in 2023, we should come full circle by helping to honor a composer who traces his musical lineage to the New York School. Orlando Jacinto García has not merely absorbed the aesthetic language of those composers, he has built upon it and developed it into a stylistic voice that is fully and distinctively his own.

Press release (PDF)

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

520 8th Ave Suite 2005

New York NY 10018

powered by PRIAM © 2023