Pamela Z Wins the Walter Hinrichsen Award

Image © Donald Swearingen

Edition Peters is pleased to congratulate composer, performer and media artist Pamela Z, who has been named by the American Academy of Arts and Letters as the recipient of the 2020 Walter Hinrichsen Award for Music.

Z, a long time resident of San Francisco, is known for her pioneering use of digital technology to loop and process her own vocal performances and other samples in real time. She has composed music for many of the leading new music ensembles in America, including the Bang on a Can All-Stars, Eighth Blackbird, and the Kronos Quartet, has contributed to collaborations in dance, film and video, and created multimedia installations using multi-channel video and audio. Other awards Z has received over her career include the Rome Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Doris Duke Artist Impact Award, and numerous others.

The Walter Hinrichsen Award, which entails the publication of a work
composed by the honoree, was established by Evelyn Hinrichsen and the C. F. Peters Corporation (now the New York office of the global Edition Peters Group) in honour of Evelynís late husband, the founder of C. F. Peters Corp. The Hinrichsens were instrumental in moulding the identity of Edition Peters as the publisher of the most innovative composers in America and around the world.

Christian Hinrichsen, the grandson of Walter and Evelyn Hinrichsen and shareholder of the Edition Peters Group, comments:

I am privileged to represent my grandparents in conveying my heartfelt congratulations to gifted composer and performer Pamela Z: this yearís recipient of the Walter Hinrichsen Award in Music. The prize was established by my grandmother, Evelyn Hinrichsen, in 1984 to commemorate Walter's life and major contribution to the world of music. Awarded annually, the prize offers a composer the opportunity to publish a new work under the imprimatur of C.F. Peters.†

A storied, 200-year-old publishing company, Edition Peters is also a family business. My grandparents worked together to help shape the history of music in the 20th century by publishing bold and even iconoclastic composers like John Cage. Today, we name Pamela Z, a distinctive compositional voice of our
time, as the winner of the Walter Hinrichsen Award in Music. It is my hope that through this award, and the wider work of C. F. Peters, we can continue Walter and Evelynís vision to shape the history of music into the 21st century, and give a crucial publishing platform to talented composers of the age, now and in the future.

Says Pamela Z:†

Iím both delighted and astonished by the news of this prestigious award. I consider it an enormous honor to have one of my works published by Peters, and Iím humbled by the thought of being situated alongside the likes of John Cage in this distinguished catalogue.

This yearís honorees were nominated by the membership of the Academy and selected by a committee including Peters composers George Lewis and David Rakowski, along with their fellow Academy members Robert Beaser, Martin Bresnick, Chen Yi, Augusta Read Thomas, and committee chairperson Melinda Wagner. The Academy will formally bestow the award upon Z at their annual ceremonial, to be held at their campus in New York in May 2020.

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020