Chou Wen-Chung, 1923-2019

The Edition Peters Group is deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Chou Wen-Chung. Professor Chou first contacted Walter Hinrichsen at the C.F. Peters Corporation in New York City in late 1959. He was offering several of his works for publication. Mr. Hinrichsen responded almost immediately in the affirmative and thus began an almost sixty year relationship that continues to this day.
Professor Chou was born June 9th, 1923 in Yantei, Shandong, China. He became attracted to music as a child, but he was persuaded to study architecture at the university. He immigrated to the United States in 1946 where he turned down a scholarship to study architecture at Yale and chose instead to study music with Nicolas Slonimsky at the New England Conservatory. He subsequently studied with Edgard Varèse and Otto Luening in New York City.
Professor Chou’s works have been performed by the finest musicians around the world and recordings of his music have been released by Albany, Crystal, New World, Telarc and other labels. He has received many awards and honors including grants from Rockefeller, Guggenheim and Koussevitsky Foundations, from the National Institute of the Arts and Letters, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the New York State Council on the Arts. He was the Fritz Reiner Professor Emeritus of Musical Composition at Columbia University (where he was also Director of the Center for US-China Arts Exchange), and a member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.

Professor Chou’s students include Zhou Long, Chen Yi, Tan Dun, James Tenney, Chinary Ung, Bright Sheng and many others. His papers are kept at the Paul Sacher Stiftung in Basel, Switzerland, and most of his music is available from C.F. Peters Corporation. For more information about his life and music please see the Peters’ website.

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020