Specialist Areas

Contemporary Composers

Login / Register | My Account
link to basket
Total: $0.00
Contemporary Music
A to Z Index A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Product Information
Instrumentation: Cl—2Vln.Vla.Vc
Details:  Score and parts
Contents:  "'Samba!' was composed in 1991 as a part of a three-movement work entitled 'Three Folksongs' for clarinet and string quartet. It was commissioned by Pacific Serenades and premiered in Los Angeles that year with the eminent Los Angeles clarinetist Gary Gray as clarinet soloist. The movement has been excerpted many times since its permiere, and works very well as a concert encore. 'Samba!' is an attempt to picture the clarinet and string quartet instrumentation as a latin big band, interspersed with more traditional sections. Samba is a fast, Brazilian dance form in duple meter. I have altered that to a 3/4 meter here, though it retains other characteristics of the style." - Robert Livingston Aldridge

Featured Publications

The Hinrichsen Foundation | Terms & Conditions |

C.F. Peters Corporation  7030 80th St. Glendale, NY 11385     © Edition Peters Group 1800-2013     Powered By PRIAM |

powered by PRIAM © 2017